Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

This page answers some of the frequently asked questions about the Mid-Atlantic Forest Fire Compact.

What is the Mid-Atlantic Forest Fire Compact?

The Mid-Atlantic Compact is comprised of seven state and associate partners from the U.S. Forest Service, National Park Service and Fish and Wildlife Service.  The seven states in the compact are Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, and Maryland.  The primary goals of the compact as listed in the charter are as follows; assist in fire suppression between the states, work together in developing fire prevention programs and combine our resources to promote quality fire suppression training.  The compact board meets at least two times each year to set priorities and to plan for the coming years.  The funding for the compact comes from a grant from State and Private Forestry.  With that money the compact plans the training sessions, cover the costs of fire prevention material and employs one person to administer the grants.

Do you mobilize crews to fight wildfires?

Yes. In addition to coming to the aid of other members of the Compact, each of the state agencies also trains and dispatches crews, personnel, and equipment to assist other areas and regions in the United States with wildfires and a range of other "all-hazard"  emergencies.

Do you offer courses and training in wildland firefighting and emergency response?

The Mid-Atlantic Forest Fire Compact sponsors an annual Mid-Atlantic Wildfire Training Academy each June that offers courses in basic and advanced firefighting and emergency response management. For more information, see our Training Page.